State Insurance Minimums Apply to Both Autos and Motorcycles To maintain the privilege of driving on Virginia’s roads, you must maintain proper levels of insurance for an automobile or motorcycle – whichever you own and drive. Dove Insurance Agency of Blacksburg, VA wants you to remain on the road legally. It explains the state insurance minimums that apply to both autos and motorcycles and discusses the other policy types available to add to an insurance package.
You won’t be able to purchase license plates or renewal decals for the plates without proof of insurance. If you get caught driving without insurance, the state can suspend your license, revoke your vehicle registration privileges, charge you with a $500 statutory fee, plus a reinstatement fee. Once reinstated, you must maintain proof of financial responsibility, also known as insurance, for three years upon suspension.
The minimum coverage for motorcycles and auto insurance is the same. It requires $25,000 for bodily injury or death of one person and $50,000 for bodily injury or death of two or more people, plus $20,000 to cover property damage. That’s only the minimum insurance required. While you must obtain the minimum’s to legally drive on the roads, you may also add to that insurance.
You can add collision, comprehensive, Personal Injury Protection (PIP) and uninsured driver coverage. Collision covers you when the vehicle hits a stationary object like a parked vehicle, fence, building, guardrail or potholes. Comprehensive pays for the damage when an animal strikes your vehicle or it gets damaged by an act of God such as flood, tornado, fire or hail. PIP, also called no-fault coverage, pays for what bodily injury liability coverage does not for you and any passengers. You can also add uninsured driver coverage to cover damage to your vehicle and medical costs if your vehicle is struck by a driver who has no insurance or too little.
Dove Insurance Agency of Blacksburg, VA wants you on the road legally. Come by and talk to us about auto or motorcycle insurance for your vehicle.
Renters insurance will protect you financially in three ways:
Personal liability protection: Should there be an accidental injury or property damage that occurs in your rented space, renters insurance steps in.
Personal property protection: Renters Insurance
will protect your belongings and furniture against losses like fire,
vandalism, hailstorms, smoke, lightning, and theft.
Extra living expenses: If you have to relocate from
your apartment for repairs to damages and are forced to live in a hotel
or other living arrangements, renters insurance can provide coverage
for your situation.
We Work for You
Instead of working for one big company, our family of Independent
Agents represent multiple insurance providers. This allows us to compare
rates and coverages so you’ll get the best coverage-to-value policy
available. We’re here to serve you.
If you don’t recognize either of the (2) terms above then odds are you don’t need either one added to your auto insurance.
Both are certificates of financial responsibility that may be required by Virginia DMV. Typically an SR-22 form is required when a driver has had their license suspended due to driving without insurance, failure to pay fines, revoked license, or other relation incidents. An FR-44 is typically required for incidents such as a DUI or other drug related charges.
Neither of these forms are a type of insurance—they’re simply forms that DMV requires you to carry for insurance monitoring. And to guarantee authenticity, SR-22 and FR-44 forms must come straight from your auto insurance provider. The only difference in these forms is that an FR-44 requires double the state minimum liability coverage, or $50,000 each person/$100,000 per accident/$40,000 property damage to others (50/100/40).
Your situation with Virginia DMV determines the length of time each form will be required. An SR-22 is commonly required for a minimum of 3 years and a FR-44 for 5 years.
If there is no vehicle registered under your name Virginia DMV may require either form on your license. In this situation, you can get an auto insurance policy without a vehicle. When you get a vehicle, your SR-22 or FR-44 will need to be added to your insurance policy with the appropriate form filed before you can register the vehicle with Virginia DMV.
Need an SR-22 or FR-44? We can help.
Not every insurance carrier offers these forms. However, our Family of Independent Agents represent multiple carriers instead of working for a single company. This means that we can help with your SR-22 or FR-44 filing.